A tribute to Madam Noor Jehan

Here is a collection of posts, articles and sources on legendary singer-actress Madam Noor Jehan.

Movie songs (videos):

Khandan (1942)

Lal Haveli(1944)

Zeenat (1945)

Gaon Ki Gori AKA Village Girl (1945)

Anmol Ghadi (1946)

Jugnu (1947)

Mirza Sahiban (1947)

Movie reviews:

Anmol Ghadi (1946)

Jugnu (1947)

A tribute to her on her birthday: a video I uploaded on Youtube

Some sites on Madam:

Official website

My blog on her

YouTube channels:

mine πŸ™‚

InaamΒ  Ji

Shafqat Ji (dedicted to her)

Jimmy Ji

Waseem Ji

Richard Ji

Some of her movies available online:

Zeenat (1945) with Yaqub and Suraiya Chowdhri

Mirza Sahiban (1947) with Trilok Kapoor and Gope

Jugnu (1947) with then rising star Dilip Kumar and Ghulam Mohammed

Chan We (1951), her first Pakistani movie, with Jahangir and Santosh Kumar

Dupatta (1952) with Ajay Kumar and Sudhir

Patay Khan (1955) with Aslam Pervez, Zareef and also playback singer Zubaida Khanum

Intezar (1956) with double-role of Santosh Kumar

Anarkali (1958) with Sudhir and Ragni

Neend (1959) with Aslam Pervez and Neelo

Koel (1959) with Aslam Pervez, Neelo and Nazar

If there are any more movies available online please let me know by commenting.

5 Responses to “A tribute to Madam Noor Jehan”

  1. Always happy to see more tributes to Madam Noor Jehan!

    Vidur, I hope you would consider my blog (linked to from this comment, of course) to be partly a Noor Jehan site too. πŸ™‚ I have written a whole bunch of tributes to her, posted full reviews of Anmol Ghadi and Dupatta, and posted many links and clips. No singing star, in my opinion, even approaches Noor Jehan (though there are quite a few others whom I like also). I adore that voice! And I love watching her in on screen too!

    Recently, I also put together a Noor Jehan playlist on YouTube. I think I need to organize it a little, but at least at this point it has a pretty good number of clips – 96 so far:

    http://www.youtube.com/user/LifeIsaTrain?feature=mhum#p/c/7E7DA597ADA04D82

    • Great playlist you’ve got there! And I definitely do consider 3/4th of your site dedicated to Madam Noor Jehan. Will improve my sites soon. Do tell me if you need any help making playlists, uploading mp3s with pics, I would be glad to help you! πŸ™‚ Although I think a few people equal her πŸ˜‰ Shanta Apte, Kanan Devi and M S Subbulakshmi, for instance. I’m sure you’ll like Shanta and M S too if you see them, and know that you like Kanan Devi. I found some great clips of her with K L Saigal (who, in my opinion, make a great pair!) in Street Singer (1938) and Lagan (1941), etc. and put together videos to make playlists.

      Re: On Kalyani Mitra, the singer in Zeenat (1945), I’ve managed to put together some videos and make a tribute.
      Please do see my other posts too. Did you like my Lata Mangeshkar collection and tribute to my mom?

    • I have added more movies now, hope you find them useful.

  2. Great stuff, Vidur. I enjoyed those links.

Leave a Reply

